MEMORANDUM

TO: Claire Powell, City Manager

FROM: Jennifer Malone, Acting City Secretary

DATE: May 19, 2025

SUBJECT: Consideration of a Resolution Nominating One Member to the Board of

Managers of the Denco Area 9-1-1 District.

BACKGROUND

Sue Tejml, former Mayor of Copper Canyon, currently represents area municipalities on the Denco Area 9-1-1 District Board of Managers. Ms. Tejml's term expires on September 30, 2025 and she has not expressed interest in continuing to serve in this position. The District has requested that each participating city submit their nomination for a candidate to represent their municipality by May 31, 2025. Steve Southwell has expressed interest in serving in this position.

Currently, the members of the Board of Managers of the Denco 9-1-1 District area as follows:

- Bill Lawrence (Representing Denton County Commissioners Court) Board Chair
- Sue Tejml (representing participating cities) Board Vice Chair
- Jim Carter (representing participating cities) Board Secretary
- Jason Cole (representing Denton County Commissioners Court)
- Chief Eric Schlotter (representing Denton County Fire Chiefs Association)

CITY STAFF'S RECOMMENDATION

That the City Council approve the resolution nominating one member to the Board of Managers of the Denco Area 9-1-1 District, as set forth in the caption above.